The Competency Framework

The Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Children's Safeguarding Learning Competency Framework provides guidance on the knowledge and skills required by professionals working with children, young people and families.

The competency framework divides the different types of roles into 9 different groups, dependent on their level of contact with children and the degree of responsibility for managing safeguarding concerns (e.g. frontline workers, managers, designated officers).

Managers are responsible for signing their staff off as competent against the knowledge requirements listed in the framework. Evidence of competence can come from many sources:

  • Formal training
  • Experience (e.g. reporting a concern to the designated officer)
  • Attendance at workshops and briefings
  • E-learning
  • Self-directed learning

Competencies should be reviewed and refreshed every 3 years.

Browse our Safeguarding Training