The Early Help Assessment

The Early Help Assessment (EHA) provides support for families, using a multi-agency Team Around the Family (TAF) approach with an identified Lead Practitioner.

The EHA is for families with 3 or more ‘unmet’ needs and it is a voluntary process – families must provide written consent to undertake an EHA.

There are four main stages of the Early Help Assessment:

  1. Identification of needs 
  2. Assessment of those needs and creation of an action plan
  3. Delivery of co-ordinated and integrated services
  4. Regular review of progress

Requesting an EHA

Anyone can request an Early Help Assessment by completing the Request for Targeted Early Help Support Form:

  • The form should be sent to the Early Help Response Team:
  • All requests will be screened by the Early Help Response Team and if it meets the eligibility criteria and threshold they will allocate this to the appropriate cluster
  • Once the EHA referral has been allocated, professionals and the family will be invited to a TAF meeting where the assessment will be updated, a Lead Practitioner identified and a plan of action agreed and reviewed every 3 months until needs are met or the family no longer require additional support

Browse our Early Help Training